HomeMediaTools Logo

HomeMediaTools.com

Login

HomeMediaTools Logo

Getting Started

Adding your photo and video collections.

It all starts when you add the top folders wherein you keep your Photo and Video files, to ™HomeMediaToolkit. This may be achieved either by drag-dropping the top-most folder of your photo and videos folders, to the application's main work area, or by clicking on the 'Add Folder' option from the menu at the top, as illustrated by the arrow below.


HomeMediaToolkit - Adding a folder and its sub-folder for analysis.

When a folder is added, the system will analyze the photos and videos in that folder and all its subfolders. This process could take an hour or two (for say 30,000 files) depending on the number of media files you have and on many other factors such as your PC's hardware. Once analysis is complete, this information is stored for future use. When media files are added or removed, the system will eventually re-analize any changes it may find in your folders.

Give your top folders a friendly name.

Some storage devices such as USB Sticks, SDHC / Micro SDHC chips and so on may be difficult to recognise. You may 'name' a device so that when it is on-line, active and available, it shows the friendly name and not just a drive letter such as "F:\".

HomeMediaToolkit - Give external storage a friendly name.

HomeMediaToolkit - Friendly name dialog.

Set Master and Secondary Folders

There can only be one Master folder (set) at any one time, but as many secondary folders as you want. By setting a Folder to 'Master' you are indicating which folder contains your main (primary, most important) collection of photos and videos. This is useful for example, when you would like to find which photos on the Micro SD are missing from your "Master collection". Having said that, you can change your Master folder whenever you desire to do so.

HomeMediaToolkit - Setting a folder as your Master Folder

Protect Your Folders

HomeMediaToolkit - Protecting your folders./>

    <br />

    <p>
        This feature blocks you from accidentally 'Binning' photos and videos from any folder (and it's subfolders) that you set as Protected, 
        from within this software. You may then un-protect them later when you need to bin, and eventually delete some media files 
        from within these folders.</p>
    <p>Note that this feature does <u>not</u> protect you from deleting files through Windows or any other software application.
    </p>
    
    <div class= Back to Main Page